Inspiration

I love this! Most people who know me know I’m obsessed with this sort of thing! I love dollhouses. I also love cardboard! When I was little, I had a beautiful 3 story wooden dollhouse. I loved all the delicate little furnishings. Sadly, I didn’t take the best care of it (loved it a little too much) so a lot of the furniture is broken. If ever I have a little girl, hopefully we can fix it up!

Aside for the wooden dollhouse I also had a Barbie house. Oh, how I loved that hunk of plastic! Now, as an adult and realizing the wonderful world of VINTAGE Barbie, I’ve become obsessed with cardboard barbie houses. I love how this image marries the wooden with the cardboard! I’m thinking next time I’m at home visiting my mother, I should snag a few non-broken pieces of dollhouse furniture and create my own diorama!

Also, I’m intrigued by this because I really want Dottie Makes Magic to become my own fantastic little world of anthropomorphic dolls. My little barbie/felt people need a place to live don’t they! I’m filing this idea away..it’s a keeper.

(visit Rue Mag for more lovely dollhouse images starting on page 42)

About Miranda

Interior Stylist in Birmingham, Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration

  1. tdtx says:

    Love it! Speaking of doll houses, you should check out Jenny Lawson a/k/a The Bloggess’ Haunted Victorian House. It’s amazing:

    http://kirtsy.com/2011/10/27/dollhouse-curated-by-jenny-lawson/?kp=YToxOntzOjE6ImkiO2k6MzE0Mzt9

    • dottiemakesmagic says:

      Oh my goodness, that is fantastic. I love how even though things are so small…there’s so much detail! I love the secret passages, that’s great. I’ll be staring at these photos for a while.

Leave a Reply

